Go to virtual 3D site


For 2021, in place of our usual Spring Meeting, our main annual meeting will be held online over five days during the Summer (21st-25th June). We have an exciting programme of scientific content, which will be delivered through a virtual conference interface designed to maximise opportunities for interaction, through live Q&A sessions, breakout discussion rooms and virtual trade stands for our exhibitors and sponsors.

All oral presentations will need to be pre-recorded and uploaded to the site, and then broadcast during the assigned slot. Presenters will be asked to be available for a live Q&A session at the end of their assigned slot. This approach should minimise any issues associated with poor internet connections, while maintaining an element of live face to face interaction. Presenters will have the option of making their content available on the conference website for a period of 1 year, but can opt out of this without issue. Full instructions and details on all of this will be provided after you submit an abstract.

The meeting will run across two streams. Our main science stream will incorporate our usual mix of varied high quality themed scientific sessions, keynote speakers and presentations by postgraduate and postdoctoral researchers. Our second, specialist stream, will include: (1) A series of talks from the Infectious Diseases Data Observatory (IDDO; www.iddo.org); (2) Sessions focused on schistosomiasis, curated by Prof Mike Doenhoff and Prof Tony Walker; (3) A session on gender and racial equality in science, focusing on what we as parasitologists can do to address those issues.

There will also be interactive poster sessions, where delegates will have the opportunity for discussion with poster presenters (although this year we’re sorry to say that you will have to bring your own refreshments).

Click on the links above to register and/or submit an abstract!

Registration charges for the full 5 day meeting:
> Members: £90
> Students: £30
> Member in low-income countries: FREE; note also that researchers in LMIC and Least Developed Countries can join BSP FOR FREE.
> Non-members: £180

We are very pleased to announce the following confirmed invited speakers:

Prof Maria-Gloria Basanez (Imperial College London)
Dr Emma Briggs (University of Glasgow)
Dr Krystyna Cwiklinski (University of Ireland Galway)
Dr Carmen Faso (University of Bern)
Prof Phillipe Guerin (Infectious Disease Data Observatory)
Prof Neil Hall (Earlham Institute)
Prof Matt Higgins (Oxford University)
Prof Achim Hoerauf (University Hospital Bonn)
Dr Rhys Jones (Aberystwyth University)
Dr Ben Makepeace (Liverpool School)
Prof Eric Morgan (Queen’s University Belfast)
Dr Russ Morphew (Aberystwyth University)
Prof Sarah Reece (University of Edinburgh)
Prof Koert Ritmijer (Médecins Sans Frontières)
Dr Claire Rogers (London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine)
Prof Bernard Sures (Universität Duisburg-Essen)

Prof Mitali Chatterjee (Infectious Diseases Data Observatory)
Dr Prabin Dahal (Infectious Diseases Data Observatory)
Dr Martin Walker (Royal Veterinary College)
Dr Nathalie Strub-Wourgraft (Drugs for Neglected Tropical Diseases Initiative)
Prof Sir Nicholas White (University of Oxford)

Dr Regina Cordy (Wake Forest University)
Dr Elisabeth English (University of Pennsylvania)
Prof Elena Gomez-Diaz (Institute of Parasitology and Biomedicine Lopez-Neyra)
Prof Debbie Smith (University of York)
Prof Santuza Teixeira (Federal University of Minas Gerais)

Prof Coen Adema (University of New Mexico)
Prof Matt Berriman (Wellcome Sanger Institute)
Dr Conor Caffrey (University of California San Diego)
Prof Dan Colley (University of Georgia)
Dr Jim Collins (University of Texas Southwestern Medical Centre)
Prof Christoph Grevelding (Justus Liebig Universitat Giessen)
Prof Peter Hotez (Baylor College of Medicine)
Prof Andrew McDonald (University of Manchester)
Prof Joanne Webster (Imperial College London)

Venue: Web Event
Organiser Contact Details:
Julian Fuller

T: 01234 211015


Join the Society

If you are not already a member of the British Soiety for Parasitology you can sign up from here.

Join Here
2021-06-21 09:45:002021-06-25 16:00:00Europe/LondontrueBSP Parasites Online 2021BSP Parasites Online 2021 Full details here: https://myeventflo.com/event.asp?evID=2369OnlineJulian FullerInfo@bsp.uk.netAdd Event to Calendar
All times are British Summer Time (GMT+1)
Prof Coen Adema
University of New Mexico
Dr Augusto Barbosa
The University of Auckland
Prof Maria-Gloria Basanez
Imperial College London, Faculty of Medicine
Dr Matthew Berriman
Wellcome Sanger Institute
Dr Emma Briggs
University of Glasgow
Dr Conor Caffrey
Center for Discovery and Innovation in Parasitic Diseases, Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceut
Prof Mitali Chatterjee
Institute of Postgraduate Medical Education & Research, Kolkata
Prof Dan Colley
University of Georgia
Dr Jim Collins
UT Southwestern Medical Center
Prof Regina Cordy
Wake Forest University
Dr Krystyna Cwiklinski
National University of Ireland, Galway
Dr Rod Dillon
Lancaster University
Dr Elizabeth English
University of Pennsylvania
Prof Carmen Faso
Institute of Cell Biology-University of Bern
Prof John Gilleard
University of Calgary
Dr Elena Gomez-Diaz
Professor Christoph G. Grevelding
Justus-Liebig-University Giessen
Prof Philippe Guérin
Dr Julius Hafalla
London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
Prof Neil Hall
Earlham Institute
Prof Matthew Higgins
Oxford University
Prof Achim Hoerauf
Prof Peter Hotez
Baylor college of Medicine, Baylor University
Dr Rhys Jones
Prof Andrew MacDonald
University of Manchester
Dr Benjamin Makepeace
University of Liverpool
Prof Santiago Mas-Coma
Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Valencia
Prof Eric Morgan
Queen's University Belfast
Dr Russell Morphew
Aberystwyth University
Prof Sarah Reece
University of Edinburgh
Prof Koert Ritmeijer
Prof Debbie Smith
Dr Nathalie Strub-Wourgraft
Prof Bernd Sures
Universität Duisburg-Essen
Dr Martin Walker
Royal Veterinary College
Prof Joanne Webster
Royal Veterinary College
Sir Prof. Nicholas White
Oxford University